How many political parties in Odisha? List of political parties in Odisha

list of political parties in Odisha

About Political parties in Odisha

The state has a multi-party system where the two main parties are the Indian National Congress (Congress) and the regional Samajwadi Party Biju Janata Dal (BJD). The Nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has grown in recent years.

Also Read: How to Apply OBC Certificate Online

The party with the most seats in the Odisha Legislative Assembly is the Biju Janata Dal (BJD). The current Chief Minister of Odisha is BJD leader Naveen Patnaik, who has led the government since March 2000.

Odisha is represented by 21 MPs in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian Parliament. They are elected from region-based constituencies. The Upper House of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, Odisha, is represented by 10 representatives, who are elected by the members of the State Legislative Assembly.

List of Political Parties in Odisha

The state has a mix of active political parties which are both national and regional. Here are the current active political parties.

Aam Aadmi Party 

All India Forward Bloc 

All India Jharkhand Party

All India Trinamool Congress

Biju Janata Dal

Bharatiya Janata Party

Bahujan Samaj Party

Communist Party Of India(Marxist) 

Indian National Congress

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha

Jharkhand Party

Historically there have been other political parties that have influenced state politics. Some most important but now-defunct political parties are as below.

All India Ganatantra Parishad

Swatantra Party

Orissa Jana Congress

Praja Socialist Party

Janata Party

Janata Dal

Utkal Congress

Odisha Gana Parishad